The aim of the scheme, which operates throughout Europe, is to recognise, encourage and support young people who are actively involved in the welfare of the community, supporting the best of our Lions’ ideals. In previous years, candidates have been involved in helping young and older people, disabled, able bodied and disadvantaged and have organised projects in conservation, crime prevention, promoting healthier lifestyles, hospital radio and other initiatives. The scheme is LIONS YOUNG AMBASSADOR OF THE 21st CENTURY.

Rules and Selection process.

A year is 1st July in any year to 30th June in the following year.

The scheme is open to Candidates of either sex within the age limits set out below.

To be eligible, candidates must have reached their 15th birthday, but not their 19th birthday, on or before 30th June in the year in which the MD Final is to be held.

Candidates are required to be selected by a Lions, Leo or Lioness club. Thereafter, each club is responsible for actively sponsoring the candidate at subsequent levels and should be aware of the commitment required to support the candidate, together with bearing the cost of their candidate’s expenses. Expenses incurred can correctly be drawn from the club’s Charity account.

Previous winners of an MD Young Ambassador Final are not eligible for selection as candidates. However, non-winning former participants are eligible, providing they still fall within the age range and are sponsored by a Lions club

Membership of a Lions Club, Leo Club or of a Lioness Club shall not render a person ineligible, but he or she shall not be submitted as a Candidate by his or her own Club.

Candidates will progress through the various levels (Club, Zone, Region and District) up to the MD Final. The MD Final winner will progress to the European Final to be held at Europa Forum.

The qualities on which the judges reach their decision must take into account

The extent of the candidate’s involvement in community service, for which 50% of the marks are allocated.

The personality and leadership qualities of the candidate (15% of the marks).

The candidate’s proposals for the use of the bursary (15% of the marks).

The ability to speak for up to 3 minutes about the candidate’s service activities

(20% of the marks). N.B. This timing may be increased at rounds prior to the MD

Final, as decided by the District Officer but may not exceed 3 minutes at the MD Final.

The Young Ambassador of the 21st Century award consists of:

A bursary of £1,500 (£500 as a District winner plus £1,000 as an MD winner)

A trophy to be held for one year

A small replica

A commitment to address the MD Convention in that year, with expenses paid by the MD Youth Trust.

An invitation to the MD International Youth Centre of that year, with expenses paid by the MD Youth Trust.

A commitment to participate in the Young Ambassador of the 21st Century European award, to be held at Europa Forum later in the same year, with expenses paid by the MD Youth Trust.

All other participants in the MD Final will win a bursary of £500. Candidates may be awarded further prizes at the discretion of their sponsoring club and District.

Important Note – the winners’ bursaries are to be used for the welfare work within the candidates’ projects or for training to develop the candidates’ potential to carry out this welfare work. These bursaries are not intended to be for the personal financial benefit of the candidates. The only personal benefit to be derived is the encouragement of character development through participation in the scheme.

At all levels (except club) of the Award Scheme there shall be three non-Lion Judges (male and female) covering the fields of education, Youth Work or Community Service and Industry or Commerce. It is recommended wherever possible that non-lions are used as judges at club level

No candidate may be related to a member of the panel.

Each participating club is asked to contribute a District fee of £30, £25 of which is or forwarding by District Treasurers to the M. D. Youth Trust. It is further suggested that all clubs support MD with a contribution of £50 towards the expenses of all the Lions Youth Programmes. These fees should be received by the District Treasurer not later than 30th September of the award year and the MD fee can then be paid to the MD Youth Trust by 31st January.

Each Club shall be responsible for local publicity, obtaining Candidates and arranging the venue and judging.

The Judges at Club level will select one Candidate to go forward to the next stage of the Award and the Club will provide suitable prizes.

The Club must ensure that for each Candidate there is written support from the sponsor and supportive evidence of community involvement and achievement.

Important Note- Use of the Bursary.  The District Winner is required to submit to the MD Young Ambassador Committee a written statement outlining the purpose for which the Bursary will be used. The approved project must require the winner’s personal involvement (e.g. not just a cash gift to a charity or hospital etc.). As part of the project, the Committee will be happy to pursue a place at a Lions International Youth Centre. It is important to alert all Candidates to this requirement.

In the event of a dispute the decision of the Committee shall be final.

Please also see the MD Website for more information, use this link here

If you require any more application forms, Youth Officer Guides or a copy of my booklet for Youth Award Officers please contact me.

For any further information or assistance please contact:-

District Youth Award Officer


Lion Liz Godden (Clacton on Sea Lions Club)

Email address

Previous Winners from District 105EA

1993/94    Amanda Jones, Loughton Lions Club

1994/95    Melanie Abbott, Stowmarket & District Lions Club

1995/96    Kevin Jennings, Maldon Lions Club

1996/97    Natasha Gillians, Woodbridge & District Lions Club

1997/98    Edwin Croxton, Loughton Lions Club

1998/99    Ann-Marie Smart, Hunstanton Lions Club

1999/00    Sara Haslett, Loughton Lions Club

2000/01    David Reeve, Loughton Lions Club

2001/02    Claire Owers, Mersea Island Lions Club

2002/03    Peter Chapman, Billericay Lions Club

2003/04    Glyn Martin, Clacton on Sea Lions Club

2004/05    Sarah Shreeve, Norfolk Broads Lions Club

2005/06    Greg Tucker, Billericay Lions Club

2006/07    Amber Claughton, Billericay Lions Club

2007/08    Michael Downing, Clacton on Sea Lions Club

2008/09    Alex Stewart, Ipswich Lions Club

2009/10    Ben Chandler, Clacton on Sea Lions Club

2010/11    Elliot Clarke, Great Yarmouth Lions Club

2011/12   Aaron Matthews, Norfolk Broads Lions Club

2012/13   Frank Barquinha, Norfolk Broads Lions Club

2013/14   Jennifer Luu, Ipswich Lions Club

2014/15   Jazzmay Thompson, Great Yarmouth Lions Club

2015/16   Maddie Booth, Wisbech Lions Club

2016/17  Susan Hart, Great Yarmouth Lions Club

2017/18 Charlie Latimer Camilleri, Clacton on Sea Lions Club